The Culbert Family Genealogy Project:
 Connecting a Migratory People

1810 United States Federal Census

Source Information    |    Media    |    Notes    |    All

  • Title 1810 United States Federal Census 
    Short Title 1810 United States Federal Census 
    Call Number Microfilm Series M252 
    Repository U.S. National Archives and Records Administration 
    Source ID S76 
    Linked to James CULBERT
    Jeremiah CULBERT
    John CULBERT
    John CULBERT
    Robert CULBERT
    Ann REED 

  • Census Records
    1810 U.S. Federal Census
    1810 U.S. Federal Census
    Culbert households and individuals

  •  Notes 
    • 71 Rolls. Enumerators of the 1810 census were asked to include the following categories in the census: name of head of household; number of free white males and females in age categories: 0 to 10, 10 to 16, 16 to 26, 26 to 45, 45 and older; number of other free persons except Indians not taxed; number of slaves; and town or district and county of residence. The official enumeration day of the 1810 census was 6 August 1810. All questions asked were supposed to refer to that date. The enumeration was to be completed within nine months, but the due date was extended by law to ten months. This census was organized under the United States Federal Court system. Each district was assigned a U.S. marshal who hired other marshals to administer the census. Governors were responsible for enumeration in territories. Schedules exist for 17 states and District of Columbia, Georgia territory, Mississippi territory, Louisiana territory, Orleans, Michigan territory, and Illinois territory. There was, however, a district wide loss for District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana Territory, Mississippi Territory, Louisiana Territory (MO), New Jersey and Tennessee. Partial losses included Illinois Territory, which had only two counties (Randolph is extant, St. Clair is lost.), and OH, all lost except Washington County. Some of the schedules for these states have been re-created. In addition to the 1800 census, this census includes Ohio, the District of Columbia separated from Maryland and Virginia, and the Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana (later called Missouri), Michigan, Mississippi, and Orleans Territories. Districtwide losses include: District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana territory, Michigan Territory, Mississippi Territory, Louisiana Territory, New Jersey, and Tennessee. Partial losses include: Illinois Territory and Ohio.